Nick Planas

Composer and musician

Symphony of Dances (2015)

The idea for a symphony of music “to be danced to” had been with me for some time; in fact since the successful premiere of my Concerto for Piano & Orchestra in 2011, as this used various dance rhythms throughout.

I decided to write a symphony in a similar vein, and so I was delighted when the Banbury Symphony Orchestra chose to premiere this work in their concert of “Music to make you dance” on June 27th 2015.

The Symphony is in 5 movements, and you can hear clips in the trailer below.

Total Duration: 45 minutes

Orchestration: 3Fl(Picc) 3Ob(CA) 3Cl(Bs) 3Bsn(CBsn) 4Hn 3Tpt 3Trb Tuba 4Perc Hp Strings

The Score & parts are available for hire for £250 plus carriage, for up to 12 weeks.

Please contact  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  to arrange hire.

There is a Study Score available for £30.00, which includes free P&P within the UK, and also contains an introduction featuring the composer's notes about the creation, realisation and performance of the work.

A4 Study Score: £30.00